State of California Electrician Certification
Fire/Life Safety Technician
REGISTER TODAY: (800) 809-0280
WBFAA UATC Apprentice Spring Semester Class
Begin January 2017
The WBFAA UATC Spring 2017 semester begins January 18, 2017. Call the WBFAA UATC at 800-809-0280. Please register new apprentices in advance of this start date. The WBFAA UATC is open to member companies of the CAA or CAFAA who require having registered apprentices with the State of California.
Certification – Fire/Life Safety Technician – Renewal
For Fire/Life Safety Technicians with 4,000 hours of work experience, the state law requires them to be certified by passing the state exam. The renewal application is posted at ww.dir.ca.gov/das and the state does not send out reminders. For information on the Electrician Certification Program visit www.dir.ca.gov/das and follow the links. The WBFAA UATC has certification prep material available to member companies of the WBFAA UATC. If you are a member and would like the material, please contact the WBFAA UATC at 800-809-0280 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Note on Update for State Certification Exam Brooks 2017:
CALIFORNIA FIRE-LIFE SAFETY TECHNICIAN
A Fire/Life Safety Technician is one who performs work for an electrical contractor involving the installation, construction or maintenance of systems as covered in the National Electrical Code (Article 760) and the National Fire Alarm Code.
The following references are provided in the testing center. No highlighting or notes of any sort may be made in the book during the exam.
NFPA 70 – National Electrical Code, 2014 Edition. National Fire Protection Association, 1 Batterymarch Park, P.O. Box 9101, Quincy, MA 02269, http://www.nfpa.org/
NFPA 72 – National Fire Alarm Code, 2016 Edition, National Fire Protection Association, 1 Batterymarch Park, P.O. Box 9101, Quincy, MA 02269-9101, http://www.nfpa.org/
CAL/OSHA – Pocket Guide for the Construction Industry, 2011 Edition. State of California Department of Industrial Relations, Cal/OSHA Consultation Service Research and Education. http://www.dir.ca.gov/dosh/puborder.asp
The following references have been used to create exam questions but are NOT allowed in the testing center.
Delmar’s Standard Textbook of Electricity, 5th Edition. 2011 Delmar Learning, P.O. Box 6904 Florence, KY, 41022, http://www.cengage.com/us/
Illustrated Guide to the National Electrical Code, 5th Edition. 2011 Delmar Learning, P.O. Box 6904 Florence, KY, 41022, http://www.cengage.com/us/
Understanding NEC Requirements for Limited Energy and Communications Systems (Based on the 2014 NEC). Mike Holt Enterprises, Inc., 3604 Parkway Blvd. Suite 3 Leesburg, FL, 34748, http://www.mikeholt.com/
CSLB Enforces Zero Tolerance
The Contractors State License Board (CSLB) issues legal action against any C-10 Electrical contractor who willfully employs an uncertified electrician to perform work as an electrician. CSLB is legally required to open an investigation and initiate disciplinary action against the contractor (which may include license suspension or revocation) within 60 days of receipt of a referral or complaint from the Department of Industrial Relations’ Division of Apprenticeship Standards (DAS). Labor Code Section 3099.2 stipulates that anyone who performs work as an electrician for C-10 Electrical contractors shall hold an electrical certification card issued by DAS; DAS is required by Labor Code Section 3099.2 to report violations to CSLB. Learn more about electrician certification by visiting the Division of Apprenticeship Standards website. www.dir.ca.gov/DAS/ElectricalTrade
WBFAA UATC Offers Online Continuing Education
The WBFAA UATC is offering an online continuing education program for electronic security systems technicians with nearly 100 hours of course offerings. Registered technicians with member companies will have access to 18 hours of online courses annually at no fee. In addition, registered technicians will have access to courses offered in physical classrooms and can submit third-party training for certification for renewal of the state Fire/Life Safety Certification card. For more information, visit www.wbfaatraining.net.
WBFAA UATC Invites Membership
Assented member companies register all fire alarm technicians in
the program and pay a monthly fee of $25 per technician. The apprentice program and course, prep material for certification and continuing education courses are provided at no additional fee. In addition, member companies who contribute to public works training trust funds to the WBFAA receive a $.15 per hour credit for registered technicians. For complete information, call the WBFAA UATC at 800-809-0280.